Berlin's Apartment Buildings: Inventors' Darlings

Berlin's apartment buildings are more popular than ever among domestic and foreign investors. This is the upshot of the latest IVD Rental Housing Market Report, based on data supplied by property valuation committees. According to the report, transactions involving apartment buildings with multi-dwelling units (MDU) totalled approximately 4.7 billion euros in 2013. This represents a 34 % share of all apartment building transactions in Germany‘s 50 largest cities. National transactions totalled 13.7 billion euros.

Given the Berlin has the lion's share of the market, it is unsurprising that the German capital takes the top spot as the country's highest turnover city, leaving its rivals trailing in the dust. Runner-up, and a long way behind, is Hamburg with transactions amounting to 1.2 billion euros during 2013, followed by Munich at 920 million euros. The Bavarian state capital was the sole city among the top three to see sales volumes decline year-on-year. As demand is still high, the dip can only be explained by the fact that the market has largely been swept clean. The fact that there are plenty of potential buyers in Munich was confirmed by the prices they were willing to pay: The average transaction price was 5.7 million euros. The average price tags in Hamburg and Berlin were 2.9 million euros and 2.6 million euros, respectively

According to the report, the comparatively low prices in Berlin are a major driver of the market's brisk growth. Unlike prices in Munich or Hamburg, Berlin's prices are still playing catch up and offer upside potentials. This is clear from transaction volumes and price developments: While transaction volumes for MDUs in Berlin during 2013 were 14.6% higher YOY, the number of transactions was only up by 8.3%. The relationship between transaction volumes and transactions was a nationwide trend.

The pool of data used to compile the study is from 2013 as it is based on property market reports from the various property valuation committees. More current assessments in the Rental Housing Market Report are provided by estate agents active in this segment. They indicate that extensive pent-up demand extends across all residential property categories in a majority of Germany's cities. While demand is most pronounced in prime locations, the dwindling supply is prompting an increasing number of investors to look for alternatives in good and average locations. According to the experts, the markets will be dominated by high demand for another three years at least. Accordingly, they expect to see rising prices in a number of cities, most notably in the best locations.

Berliner Zinshäuser: Lieblinge der Investoren

Berliner Zinshäuser erfreuen sich bei nationalen wie internationalen Investoren immer größerer Beliebtheit. Das geht aus dem aktuellen IVD-Zinshausmarktbericht hervor, der auf Daten der Gutachterausschüsse basiert. Demnach wurden auf dem Berliner Zinshausmarkt 2013 rund 4,7 Milliarden Euro umgesetzt. Das entspricht einem Anteil von 34 Prozent am Gesamtumsatz in den 50 größten deutschen Städten. Dort wechselten im selben Jahr Zinshäuser im Wert von 13,7 Milliarden Euro den Eigentümer.

Angesichts des großen Marktanteils überrascht es nicht, dass die Spreemetropole im Ranking der umsatzstärksten Städte mit Abstand auf dem ersten Platz liegt. Hamburg schaffte es auf Rang 2, dort wurden 2013 rund 1,2 Milliarden Euro umgesetzt. München folgt mit einem Umsatz von 920 Millionen Euro. Die bayerische Landeshauptstadt ist dabei die einzige unter den Top 3, in der das Umsatzvolumen im Vergleich zum Vorjahr zurückging. Der Grund dafür liegt weniger in geringer Nachfrage, als darin, dass der Markt größtenteils leergefegt ist. Für die große Nachfrage sprach auch, dass München Deutschlands teuerster Zinshausmarkt bleibt: Pro Vertrag wurde im Schnitt ein Kaufpreis von 5,7 Millionen Euro vereinbart. In Hamburg sind es 2,9 Millionen Euro, in Berlin 2,6 Millionen.

Dem Bericht zufolge sind die vergleichsweise niedrigen Berliner Preise einer der Gründe für das Wachstum des Marktes. Im Gegensatz zu den Preisen in München oder Hamburg zeugen die Berliner Preise noch von einem Nachholeffekt, haben also Spielraum nach oben. Das zeigt auch ein Vergleich der Umsatz- und Preisentwicklung: Während die Umsätze im hauptstädtischen Zinshausmarkt 2013 im Vergleich zum Vorjahr um 14,6 Prozent zulegten, stieg die Anzahl der Kauffälle nur um 8,3 Prozent. Berlin liegt damit im bundesweiten Trend.

Die Datenbasis des Berichts stammt zwar aus dem Jahr 2013, da sie auf den Grundstückmarktberichten der Gutachterausschüssen beruht. Der Zinshausmarktbericht umfasst aber auch Einschätzungen von Zinshausmaklern zur aktuellen Lage auf dem Markt. Demnach ist auch derzeit in den meisten Städten ein deutlicher Nachfrageüberhang zu beobachten. Er schlägt sich in allen Wohnwertkategorien nieder. Die Nachfrage manifestiert sich zwar in den Toplagen am stärksten – aufgrund des knapper werdenden Angebots weichen aber immer mehr Investoren in mittlere oder einfache Lagen aus. Den Experten zufolge wird sich am starken Nachfragedruck in den kommenden drei Jahren voraussichtlich nichts ändern. Entsprechend erwarten sie in vielen Städten steigende Preise, insbesondere in guten Lagen.

 

Erfolg! Vielen Dank für Ihre Bewertung.

Fehler! Bitte füllen Sie alle Felder aus.